top of page
  • philallaway

Brett Haas Claims 3rd Win of 2024 From 15th

At Lebanon Valley Speedway, if you’re running really well, you have to start pretty far back.  Brett Haas was leading the points and earned the 15th starting spot.  From there, he charged to the front to take his third win of 2024.

“Obviously, [my car] was very good tonight,” Haas said afterwards.  “It’s never as easy as it looks, but the car was good.  We got lucky early on and avoided the chaos [in turn 2].  We just kept plugging away and got it done.”

Haas won by 3.527 seconds over Andy Bachetti.  Olden Dwyer was third, then Brian Berger and Marc Johnson.

Dwyer started from pole, but trouble started quickly.  Montgomery Tremont spun on the first lap in turn 2.  The incident collected Mike King, Eddie Marshall, Kyle Armstrong and John Virgilio.  King was eliminated in the crash.

Shortly after the restart, a second caution flew due to Ryan Darcy slowing with a flat tire.  He would continue after a change and finished 14th.

Bachetti started eighth and quickly made his way up to third.  However, he was unable to get past Berger for second.  Meanwhile, Haas avoided the first-lap wreck and moved up to sixth.

The race quickly became a five-man race as Brandon Lane was dropped.  Berger worked on Dwyer, but could not get past.  Meanwhile, Haas was able to drive up to fourth and took third from Bachetti on lap 19.

The fighting for the lead got more intense in the final laps.  That allowed Haas to capitalize and get past both Dwyer and Berger for the lead.  From there, Haas drove away to take the win.

In the 358 Modifieds, Bachetti is on a roll right now and Saturday night did nothing to disprove it.

Ryan Heath started on pole, but ran into immediate trouble.  Contact from Donny Travaglin cut a tire and sent Heath spinning.  The incident also wrapped up Fred Pravia, Michael Sabia and Brian Sandstedt.  Sandstedt ended up out for the evening.

Peter Carlotto assumed the lead as a result of Heath’s issues and led with confidence.  Further back, Bachetti was quickly moving up from his 10th starting spot.  By lap 5, he was fourth.  Three laps later, he was eighth.

Once Bachetti caught Carlotto, it didn’t take long for him to take the lead.  Once out front, Bachetti pulled away from the field.

Carlotto was being threatened for second by Joey Coppola until the leaders ran up on Heath.  Contact was made on lap 20, resulting in Coppola, Heath and Kyle Sheldon spinning out to bring out a yellow.

Despite the field closing back up, Bachetti was easily able to hold on for his fourth straight 358 Modified win.  Jason Herrington was second, then Haas, Coppola and Carlotto.

Sportsman has been completely dominated by Tim Hartman Jr. in 2024.  Nothing changed Saturday night.

Joseph Mennite started from pole and led early on.  However, the race struggled to get going.  First, Alex Bell hit the wall in turn 4 and cut a tire to bring out a yellow.  Additional incidents for Bob Fachini, Kevin Ames and Ricky Davis resulted in single-file restarts being declared.

In all of that, Hartman was able to move himself up to third.  Ray Hall Jr. took the lead away from Mennite on lap 9, but Hartman was close behind.

It took a couple of laps of work for Hartman to take the lead.  Once he had it, no one could prevent him from taking his ninth straight Sportsman win.  The margin was 6.051 seconds over Hall.  Mike Arnold was third, then Justin Gozzi and Nick Giardini.

The Limited Sportsman feature saw Braxton Martin start from the pole and lead early.  However, Scott Zehnacher was quickly moving up from eighth on the grid.

Following an early yellow for a Brian Walsh spin, Zehnacker quickly made his way up to second.  He stalked Martin for a few laps, then made the move for the lead on lap 10.  From there, Zehnacker pulled away to take his fourth win of the year and retook the points lead.  He ended up 5.2 seconds ahead of Martin at the finish.  Owen Lewis was third, then Ray Royals and Colby Kokosa.

In Pro Stock, Chris Stalker started from the pole and led early on with Paul LaRochelle giving chase.  However, the complexion of the race changed when Tom Dean stalled on the apron of turn 4 on lap 11.

Following another yellow for debris, LaRochelle took the lead away with Chad Jeseo right on his tail.  Zach Sorrentino drove up into the picture as well.  On lap 17, Jeseo attempted to take the lead away, but Sorrentino went low and got by both of them.

A lap later, LaRochelle and Jeseo came together and spun in turn 3, collecting Dean, Shawn Perez, Nick Hilt, Jaxson Ryan and Chris Dyer.  All the drivers were ok, but the field was depleted down to only six cars.

After the restart, Sorrentino was able to hold over the final three laps to get his third win of the year.  Hilt was second, then Stalker, Dean and Dyer.

In Super Street Stock, Dave Streibel Jr. took the lead with four laps to go and held on to take his third win of the year.

Modified Doherty Bros. Construction/Darcy Construction Bill Darcy Memorial Results (30 laps): 1) Brett Haas, 2) Andy Bachetti, 3) Olden Dwyer, 4) Brian Berger, 5) Marc Johnson, 6) Brandon Lane, 7) Kyle Sheldon, 8) Kolby Schroder, 9) J.R. Heffner, 10) Kyle Armstrong, 11) John Virgilio, 12) Timothy Davis, 13) Matt Pupello, 14) Ryan Darcy, 15) Keith Flach, 16) Rob Maxon, 17) Ryan Charland, 18) Montgomery Tremont, 19) Josh Marcus, 20) Wayne Jelley, 21) Eddie Marshall, 22) Mike King

358 Modified Feature Results (24 laps): 1) Andy Bachetti, 2) Jason Herrington, 3) Brett Haas, 4) Joey Coppola, 5) Peter Carlotto, 6) Jeff Watson, 7) Kyle Sheldon, 8) Ryan Larkin, 9) Kim LaVoy, 10) Donny Travaglin, 11) Chris Bisson, 12) Michael Sabia, 13) Ryan Heath, 14) Dillon Gannon, 15) Ray Hall Jr., 16) Joe Pravia, 17) Brian Sandstedt, 18) Lorne Browe (DNS)

Sportsman Feature Results (20 laps): 1) Tim Hartman Jr., 2) Ray Hall Jr., 3) Mike Arnold, 4) Justin Gozzi, 5) Nick Giardini, 6) Anthony Maxon, 7) Joseph Mennite, 8) Connor Crane, 9) Alex Bell, 10) Brady Cordova*, 11) Mike Engwer, 12) Alex Palmer-Sawyer, 13) Ricky Davis, 14) Karl Barnes, 15) Kevin Ames, 16) Michael Sabia, 17) Bob Fachini, 18) Keith Johannessen, 19) Frank Frasco

*- Brady Cordova’s car was driven by Chris Lynch as Cordova was attending a graduation ceremony.  As per the track’s substitution policy, Cordova will earn the points from Lynch’s 10th-place finish.

Limited Sportsman Feature Results (15 laps): 1) Scott Zehnacker, 2) Braxton Martin, 3) Owen Lewis, 4) Ray Royals, 5) Colby Kokosa, 6) Jasen Brewer, 7) Harold Robitaille, 8) Brian Walsh, 9) Dylan Holmes, 10) Shawn Johannessen, 11) Kent Clark, 12) Chris Humes, 13) Bob Hollabeck, 14) Fred Pravia (DNS)

Pro Stock Feature Results (20 laps): 1) Zach Sorrentino, 2) Nick Hilt, 3) Chris Stalker, 4) Tom Dean, 5) Chris Dyer, 6) Brian Keough, 7) Paul LaRochelle, 8) Chad Jeseo, 9) Rocco Procopio, 10) Shawn Perez, 11) Jaxson Ryan, 12) Tom O’Connor, 13) Shawn Perez Jr., 14) Johnny Rivers, 15) Rick Duzlak, 16) Dave Stickles, 17) Richard Spencer (DNS)

Super Street Stock Feature (20 laps): 1) Dave Streibel Jr., 2) Chris Stalker, 3) Dave Streibel, 4) Jeff Meltz Sr., 5) Keri VanDenburg, 6) Doug Sterling, 7) Lou Gancarz, 8) Scott Morris, 9) Kyle Burl, 10) Franklin Smith, 11) Peter Huntoon

515 views0 comments


bottom of page