Lebanon Valley Speedway Home

Saturday, August 9, 2014
By: Rodney Rescott

Andy Bachetti Finally Returns to Victory Lane
Tyler Dippel Takes Small Block, Frank Twing Takes Langenback Memorial

Saturday, August 9, 2014

The mighty high backs at Lebanon Valley Speedway were full of dirt slinging racing action this past Saturday night as Andy Bachetti finally put together a full race to take the win in the Big Block Modifieds.  Tyler Dippel charged from mid field to score the win in the SB Modifieds, while Frank Twing held off the competition to capture the special Jim Langenback Pro Stock Memorial.

To say that this season of racing for Andy Bachetti was a challenge would be a bit of an understatement.  As the 34B team struggled week in and week out with various gremlins and mechanical issues, it seems to have finally come to a positive end.

At the drop of the green, Bachetti took full advantage of his front row starting position, and powered out to the early lead.  While Bachetti was out front, the fans turned to see what Brett Hearn, J.R. Heffner, and Donnie Corellis were gonna do to get to the front.

As the laps ticked away, the first caution came for the 60 of Brian Berger who seems to have lost a powerplant on lap 18.  Then on lap 20, the yellow flew again for a spinning Kyle Armstrong in turn 4.  But Bachetti still was in control with Kenny Tremont sitting 2nd.

But Tremont faded a bit and the 57 of Corellis jumped into 2nd with Hearn into 3rd.  But with all that fighting for position, Bachetti rolled on to take the win, his first of the season.  Corellis finished 2nd with Hearn 3rd.  Heffner battled his way to 4th with Tremont settling into 5th.

In the Small Block Modified 20 lap feature, Frank Hoard III jumped out to the early led aboard his 13.  But a few cautions kept the field close, giving the 1T of Tyler Dippel plenty of opportunity to get to Hoard, and make a run at the lead.

That chance came by lap 8, and Dippel took full advantage, and checked out on the field as the race went green to the end.  At the checkers, Dippel scored the win, his 2nd on the season.   Hoard had to settled for the runner-up spot, with Wayne Jelley finishing 3rd.  Brett Haas charged to finish 4th followed by Frank Harper to round out the top 5 finishers.

The 25 Lap Jim Langenback Memorial Pro Stock Shootout presented by LaRochelle Autobody and Restoration was another wide race, as Daniel Sanchez powered out to the early lead.  But the battles in the pack behind him, eventually meant, the 463 was gonna be under some pressure for the lead.

After a couple of cautions to tighten the field by lap 13, finally a 3 wide battle for the lead say contact between the 143 of Rob Yetman and Sanchez, handing the lead over to the 3rd place runner Frank Twing.  Twing took full advantage of their overzealous battle, and powered his 317 to the front, and pulled away for the win.  

At the checkers, Twing scored the win with Sanchez coming back to finish 2nd.  Yetman settled for 3rd with Jon Routhier finishing 4th and Chad Arsenault rounding out the top 5 finishers.

In the grass root full fendered racing done earlier in the night, the Purestock feature winners were Chris Streeter in PS 1.  In PS 2 Jason Meltz took the win, while in PS 3, Jeff Meltz took the win.

The 4 Cylinders were also on tap for their combined feature race, and the winners were Jim Williams in the Single Cam Class, and Kenny Stager in Double Cam.

Next on the schedule is the much anticipated $17,500 Mr. DIRT Track U.S.A. 100 Lap Super DIRTCar Series Event presented by Your Upstate GM Dealers and Hoosier Tire on Thursday August 14th.  All the cars and stars of the Modified Super DIRTCar Series will be on tap for this prestigious event, also on tap will be the Small Block Modifieds for a special race.

Then its back to the regular Saturday Night affair on the high banks presented by Abele Tractor and Pepsi with a special Halloween in August costume contest for the kids.

Thermo Control Wood Boilers Big Block Modified Feature (30 Laps):  1)Andy Bachetti, 2)Donnie Corellis, 3)Brett Hearn, 4)J.R. Heffner, 5)Kenny Tremont Jr,6)Kolby Schroder, 7)Keith Flach,8)Kyle Sheldon, 9)Bobby Hackel, 10)Rob Pitcher, 11)Paul Gilardi, 12)Mike King, 13)Wayne Figler, 14)Kyle Hoffman, 15)Kyle Armstrong, 16)Brian Berger, 17)Matt Pupello, DNS)Dave McFeeters

Small Block Modified Feature (20Laps): 1)Tyler Dippel, 2)Frank Hoard III, 3)Wayne Jelley, 4)Brett Haas, 5)Frank Harper, 6)Alan Houghtaling, 7)Chad Jeseo,  8)Jason Herrington, 9)Brian Sandstedt, 10)Art Collins, 11)Ryan Darcy, 12)Chad Pierce, 13)Kenny Aanonsen JR, 14)Olden Dwyer, 15)Mike Molloy, DNS)Jason Tompkins

Jim Langenback Pro Stock Memorial (25 Laps): 1)Frank Twing, 2)Daniel Sanchez, 3)Rob Yetman, 4)Jon Routhier, 5)Chad Asenault, 6)Jay Corbin, 7)Nick Hilt, 8)Victor Hopkins, 9)Hugh Page, 10)Robbie Speed, 11)Tom O'Connor, 12)Rick Duzlak, 13)Chuck Towslee, 14)Milo Campbell, 15)Buddy Hencke, 16)Tony DeRose, 17)Chris Claus, 18)Chris Lunn, DNS)John Denue

Purestock 1 Feature (8 Laps): 1)Chris Streeter, 2)John Devine, 3)Dylan Fachini, 4)Jay Martin,  5)Zachery Seyerlein, 6)Richard Roger, 7)David Olds JR, 8)Dennis O'Connor JR, 9)Martina Martin, 10)Bob Brown, 11)Matt Cross, 12)Dave Stickles, 13)Larry Perez , 14)Shawn Perez

Purestock 2 Feature (8 Laps): 1)Jason Meltz, 2)Scott Kilmer, 3)Bill Deak Jr., 4)Jesse Murphy,  5)Hunter Sanchez, 6)Richard Stickle, 7)Shawn Lancey, 8)Bill Deek,  9)Tim Thompson, 10)Joe Walcott, 11)Joe Cheneil, 12)De-De Cross,  13)Harold Robitaille, 14)Wuggie Burdick

Purestock 3 Feature (12 Laps): 1)Jeff Meltz, 2)Ray Hall Sr., 3)Gary O'Brien, 4)Jeff Meltz Sr., 5)Jeff Kreutzinger, 6)Bob Palmer,  7)Mike Eichstedt, 8)Clifford Booth, 9)Ed Hatch,  10)Doug Olds, 11)Steven LaRochelle, 12)Lou Ganczar, 13)Al Relyea,  14)Dan Cote, 15)Scott Morris

4 Cylinder Single Cam Feature (15 Laps): 1)Jim Williams, 2)Brandon Ely, 3)Ian Relyea, 4)Don Curley, 5)Karen Verhagen, 6)Brandon Perry, 7)Gary Malloy, 8)James Street, 9)Nick Mokhiber, 10)Victoria Boyles, 11)Tim Meltz, 12)Andrew Bostwick, 13)Steve Burbank, 14)Jethro Rossan,  15)Victor Duncan SR. 16)Stephen Cameron JR. 17)Dan Collins, 18)Chris Keller, 19)Nick McClendon

4 Cylinder Dual Cam Feature (15 Laps):  1)Kenny Stager, 2)Chris Vandeputte, 3)Mike Dianda, 4)Rick Hodges, 5)Kelly Duncan, 6)Shuan Stickle


For more information, the 2014 schedule, and links to what's on tap for 2014, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com, and click on “Speedway”, or call the LVAR Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 

"Family, Fun, Excitement... Every Saturday Night!"