Lebanon Valley Speedway Home

Saturday, August 17, 2013
By: Rodney Rescott

Kenny Tremont Jr. Returns to Victory Lane at the High Banks
Chad Jeseo and Victor Hopkins Takes Wins as Well

Saturday, August 17, 2013

The Valley of Speed has just 3 weeks left in the Big Block Modified division points chase, and all drivers and teams are digging and scratching for each and every point they can before it comes to an end!  Abele Tractor and Empire Chemical Sales presented this week’s racing action on the High Banks.

The marquee event on the night, the big blocks, took to the dirt and lined up for the 30 lap shootout.  Paul Gilardi’s #87X powered out to the early lead over Steve Hough’s #34, but a caution on lap 1 slowed the field for a spinning #14 of C.G. Morey.

On the restart, Gilardi still was in control over Hough, but Kenny Tremont Jr jumped his #115 into the 3rd spot and began to find a way past the #34.

Hough bobbled on lap 6, giving Tremont 2nd.  Gilardi finally fell victim to the same as the #115 took control out front by lap 10.  Back in the field, the 2 point contenders, Brett Hearn and Andy Bachetti were working their way through the field to make a run at Tremont.

Caution slowed the field on lap 23, then again on lap 27, with Tremont, Hearn and Bachetti 1-2-3.  But nobody had anything for Tremont in the closing laps, as the #115 scored his 1st win on the season.  Hearn finished 2nd, Bachetti 3rd, followed by Eddie Marshall and Kolby Schroder to round out the top 5 finishers.

In the Small Block Modified feature, the #25 of Chad Jeseo took off early in the event, and slowly pulled away from the field, leading wire to wire for his 1st career open wheel win, and an extra $1,000 presented by Bedell Race engines.  Kim Lavoy finished 2nd, Jason Herrington held on for 3rd, followed by Ryan Darcy and Steve Meilleur rounded out the top 5.

The caution plagued Pro Stock 20 lap feature took to the high banks, with the #243 of Victor Hopkins in control of the top spot.  Caution flew right on the get go on lap 1, then again on lap 2, and lap 4.  With all the ‘excitement’ wrapping up by the end of the lap 7 caution, the attention was back up from on Hopkins still in control.

With green the rest of way, the #243 was on rails, and checked out on the field, taking the win.  Following Hopkins across the line was the #324 of Jason Casey, #317 of Frank Twing, and the #23 of Chuck Towslee rounding out the top 5.

In the Purestocks, Bob Palmer returned to victory lane in PS#1, while Jay Casey took the win in PS#2.  Daniel Sanchez came from the back of the pack to score the win in PS#3.  The 4 cylinders were also on tap, as Ian Relyea scored the win in Single Cam, and Steven Loomis won in Dual Cam.

The Big Block, Small Block, and Pro Stock points chases are now down to 2 weeks left.  Armory Garage and Anderson Equipment will present the “King of the Catskills” Modified Qualifier, plus the Pro Stock “Power Play Series” will be on tap along with the Budget Sportsman on Saturday August 24th.

Then, it’s the Final Night of Points for the Big Block, Small Block Modifieds, and the Pro Stocks.  All Star Tractor Trailer Training and Pepsi present the nights action with a $3,000 to win BB Modified Feature plus Budget Sportsman.

The last event of the year at the Valley of Speed will be Saturday September 7th for the DiCarlo Auto Body Small Block Feature, plus the 10th Annual Boomer’s Performance 20 Lap Purestock Classic, plus Budgets and 4 Cylinders!

More Races, More Fun …………. More Lebanon Valley!

Abele Tractor and Empire Chemical Sales Big Block Modified Feature (30 Laps): 1)Kenny Tremont Jr, 2)Brett Hearn, 3)Andy Bachetti, 4)Eddie Marshall, 5)Kolby Schroder, 6)J.R. Heffner, 7)Kyle Armstrong, 8)Kyle Sheldon, 9)Brian Berger, 10)Steve Hough, 11)Bobby Hackel, 12)Lorne Browe, 13)Matt Pupello, 14)Donnie Corellis, 15)Rob Pitcher, 16)Kim LaVoy, 17)Paul Gilardi, 18)Keith Flach, 19)CG Morey, 20)Kevin Petrucci, 21)Nick Hotaling, 22)Kyle Hoffman, DNS)Denny Soltis, DNS)Mike King

Bedell Race Engines $1,000 Small Block Modified Feature (24 Laps): 1)Chad Jeseo, 2)Kim LaVoy, 3)Jason Herrington, 4)Ryan Darcy, 5)Steve Meilleur, 6)Brett Haas, 7)Alex Bell, 8)Steve Hough, 9)Brian Sandstedt, 10)Frank Harper, 11)Chad Pierce, 12)Olden Dwyer, 13)Jeff Kelley, 14)Kenny Aanonsen JR, 15)Don Goodrich, 16)CG Morey, 17)Alan Houghtaling, DNS)Sean Mandell

Pro Stock Feature (20 Laps): 1)Victor Hopkins, 2)Robbie Speed, 3)Jason Casey, 4)Frank Twing, 5)Chuck Towslee, 6)Jay Casey, 7)Jay Corbin, 8)Jason Meltz, 9)Nick Hilt, 10)Tom O'Connor, 11)Tony DeRose, 12)John Santolin, 13)Paul Engwer, 14)Milo Campbell, 15)Jon Routhier, 16)Mark Dupree, 17)Paul LaRochelle, 18)Richard Spencer, 19)Chris Claus, 20)Daniel Sanchez

Purestock #1 (8 Laps): 1)Bob Palmer, 2)Pete Wiegand, 3)Hugh Page, 4)Matt Cross,  5)Joe Cheneil, 6)Keri Vandenburg, 7)Joe Walcott, 8)Gary Vandenburg, 9)Shawn Lancey, 10)Tim Thompson, 11)Phil Sherman, 12)Doug Olds, 13)Gary O'Brien

Purestock #2 (8 Laps): 1)Jay Casey, 2)Chet Watson, 3)Shawn Perez, 4)Larry Perez, 5)Scott Morris, 6)John Devine, 7)Dennis O'Connor Jr, 8)Martina Martin, 9)Brian Walsh, 10)Lloyd Tomlin, 11)Matt Narzynski, 12)Raymond Mandel

Purestock #3 (12 Laps): 1)Daniel Sanchez, 2)John Felarecki, 3)James Hatch, 4)Ray Hall Sr, 5)Lou Ganczar, 6)Al Relyea, 7)Jeff Meltz Sr., 8)Dan Cote, 9)Clifford Booth, 10)Steven LaRochelle, 11)Dave Stickles, 12)Ed Hatch , 13)Jim Groncki, 14)Mike Eichstedt, 15)Jeff Meltz

4 Cylinder Dual Cam (15 Laps): 1)Steven Loomis, 2)Todd Goldstein, 3)Brian Bishop, 4)Kelly Duncan, 5)Art Clement

4 Cylinder Single Cam (15 Laps): 1)Ian Relyea, 2)Brandon Ely, 3)Jim Williams, 4)Gary Malloy, 5)Nick Mokhiber, 6)Steve Burbank, 7)Ken Stager, 8)Stephen Cameron, 9)Karen Verhagen, 10)Nick McClendon


For more information, the 2013 schedule, and links to what's on tap for 2013, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com, and click on “LVS”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"More Races, More Fun.... More Lebanon Valley!"