Lebanon Valley Speedway Home

Saturday, June 29, 2013
By: Rodney Rescott
Saturday, June 29, 2013

Kyle Sheldon Smokes the Field for First Win in 6 Years
Steve Hough, Tyler Dippel, and Paul LaRochelle Score Checkers







Take a little bit of hot summer sun, throw in a little dirt, mixed with some fireworks, and what you get is yet another exciting night of racing action at the famed ½ mile dirt high banked oval known as the Valley of Speed!  Lebanon Valley Speedway, Berkshire Bank and Armory Garage present the night's racing action to a packed house!

Last Saturday night Eddie Marshall broke the strong hold of Brett Hearn and Andy Bachetti in the Big Block Modified division.  Would the same hold true for this week, or would we see another repeat winner?

Steve Hough and Kim Lavoy brought the all #34 front row to green for the 30 lap Big Block Modified feature event.  Hough’s #34 took control of the field and held the top spot for quite a while.  That is until a pair of #42’s made their way to the front of the field. 

Matt Pupello in his #42P and Kyle Sheldon aboard his #42S ran down Hough and began to challenge for the lead.  But by lap 17, Sheldon made a daring move going 3 wide into turn 1 to take the lead away, and pulled away from his challengers.

Even a late race charge by Brett Hearn could not deny Sheldon from the win.  At the checkers Sheldon scored his first win since 2006!  Hearn finished 2nd, followed by Pupello, Kenny Tremont Jr, and Hough to round out the top 5.

The new Small Block Modified division took to the high banks for their 24 lap feature event next.  Out front early was the #250 of Alan Houghtaling over the #88JR of Olden Dwyer.  But back in the pack, the #34 of Steve Hough was making his way to the front of the class.

By lap 16, Hough darted past the #250, and on to the victory.  A hard charging Brett Haas had to settle for 2nd, followed by Houghtaling, Chad Pierce and Kory Sandstedt.

The 20 Lap Pro Stock full-fendered feature saw plenty of racing action as well.  In the closing laps, the #78 of Paul LaRochelle held off a last lap sprint to the checkers by the #8 of Jay Corbin to take the victory.

Corbin had to settle for 2nd, Frank Twing, Jason Casey, and Jay Casey completed the top 5 finishers.

In the very popular Budget Sportsman 20 lap feature, Ricky Davis’ #43 held on to the early lead over the 29 car field.  But a series of early race cautions kept the field close, and allowed the #74 of Chris Lynch to take over the lead by lap 6.

Lynch’s lead was also constant in jeopardy as the caution kept coming, keeping the field right on his door step.  That allowed the #1 of Tyler Dippel to get past Lynch by lap 16 to take over the top.  The cautions flew again, but this time, Dippel was in control, and held on to take the victory.

Lynch had to settle for 2nd, Peter Carlotto battled his was to 3rd, with Alan Houghtaling and Matt Papa rounding out the top 5.

Earlier in the night, the Purestock features hit the speedway with Richard Puff taking Purestock #1.  Dave Stickles scored the win in PS#2, and Daniel Sanchez drove through the field to take the win in Purestock #3.

Next Saturday night at the Valley of Speed, Freihofer’s Night, with Coor’s presenting Biker Night.  The Pro Stock Power Play Series will return along with the Budget Sportsman and all other Weekly Divisions.

Then on July 13th, it’s Rifenburg Construction presenting a $5,000 Big Block Modified ‘King of the Track’ Feature, plus a Romano Speed $1,000 to win Small Block Modified Feature plus all weekly divisions as well.

More Racing, More Fun, More Lebanon Valley!


Berkshire Bank and Armory Garage Big Block Modified Feature (30 Laps): 1)Kyle Sheldon, 2)Brett Hearn, 3)Matt Pupello, 4)Kenny Tremont Jr, 5)Steve Hough, 6)Donnie Corellis, 7)Jimmy Burns, 8)Andy Bachetti, 9)Brian Berger, 10)Kyle Armstrong, 11)Rob Pitcher, 12)Kolby Schroder, 13)Denny Soltis, 14)Mike King, 15)Kim LaVoy, 16)Paul Gilardi, 17)John Ruchel, 18)Nick Hotaling, 19)Keith Flach, 20)CG Morey, 21)Bobby Hackel, 22)Mark Flach Jr, 23)Kyle Hoffman, 24)J.R. Heffner, DNS)Eddie Marshall

Small Block Modified Feature (24 Laps): 1)Steve Hough, 2)Brett Haas, 3)Alan Houghtaling, 4)Chad Pierce, 5)Kory Sandstedt, 6)Ryan Darcy, 7)Shane Jablonka, 8)Jason Harrington, 9)Steve Meilleur, 10)Chad Jeso,  11)Sean Mandell, 12)Olden Dwyer, 13)CG Morey, 14)Wayne Jelley, 15)Andy Bachetti

Budget Sportsman Feature (20 Laps): 1)Tyler Dippel, 2)Chris Lynch, 3)Peter Carlotto, 4)Alan Houghtaling, 5)Matt Pappa, 6)Cody Ochs, 7)Jack Speshock, 8)Greg Catlin, 9)Rob Knipe, 10)Brian Peterson, 11)Brandon Page, 12)Jake Jelley, 13)Cody Hunt, 14)Joe Mottoshiski, 15)Ray Hall Jr., 16)Timothy Davis 2nd, 17)Josh Gaylord, 18)Ricky Davis, 19)Michael Sabia, 20)Mike Verhagen, 21)Alissa Cody, 22)Tommy Johnson, 23)Whitey Slavin, 24)Brandon Lane, 25)John Virgilio, 26)Scott Duso, 27)Robbie Speed, 28)Jason Papp, 29)Randall Sousie, DNS)Rob Maxon, DNS)Todd Lane, DNS)Brandon Pitcher, DNS)Travis Jablonka

Pro Stock Feature (20 Laps): 1)Paul LaRochelle, 2)Jay Corbin, 3)Frank Twing, 4)Jason Casey, 5)Jay Casey, 6)Chuck Towslee, 7)Tom Harkins, 8)Robbie Speed, 9)Victor Hopkins, 10)Rick Dempsey, 11)Nick Hilt, 12)Jon Routhier, 13)Tom O'Connor, 14)Paul Engwer, 15)Milo Campbell, 16)Brian Keough, 17)Chris Claus, 18)Jason Meltz, DNS)Mark Dupree, DNS)Tony DeRose

Purestock #1 (8 Laps): 1)Richard Puff, 2)Clifford Booth, 3)Dan Olds, 4)Shawn Perez, 5)Lloyd Tomlin, 6)Dennis O'Connor JR, 7)Bob Brown, 8)Gil Twing, 9)Raymond Mandel, 10)Joe Walcott, 11)Gary Vandenburg

Purestock #2 (8 Laps): 1)Dave Stickles, 2)Joe Cheneil, 3)Ron Johnson, 4)Jim Groncki, 5)Keri Vandenburg, 6)Cody Mead, 7)Brian Walsh, 8)Scott Morris, 9)Harold Robitaille, 10)Jeremy Closson, DQ)Lou Ganczar

Purestock #3 (12 Laps): 1)Daniel Sanchez, 2)James Hatch, 3)Jeff Meltz, 4)Mike Eichstedt, 5)Ray Hall Sr, 6)Al Relyea, 7)Hunter Sanchez, 8)Ed Hatch , 9)John Devine, 10)Dan Cote, 11)John Felarecki, 12)Jeff Meltz Sr., 13)Jason Cooper, 14)Steven LaRochelle, 15)Tom Murphy, 16)Doug Olds

For more information, the 2013 schedule, and links to what's on tap for 2013, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com, and click on “LVS”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"More Races, More Fun.... More Lebanon Valley!"