Jimmy Burns Sweeps Up 1st Career Win
Hough, Meilleur, LaRochelle Takes Wins as Well
Saturday August 4, 2012
By: Rodney Rescott

The dog days of summer were in full effect this past Saturday Night at the famed ½ mile oval at Lebanon Valley Speedway.  Waste Management and Bulldog Concrete presented the racing action for the night at the Valley of Speed.

The mighty modifieds made their way to the high banks for their 30 lap feature event without current point leader Brett Hearn who wasn’t in attendance due to a recent health issue.  As green flag flew, the King Fish, Mike King rolled his #55K to the front of the field.

With Hearn not in the field, points contenders J.R. Heffner, Brian Berger, Eddie Marshall and Donnie Corellis were all looking to make a big jump in points on the night.  Heffner was the first to make a move to the front as he made his way into the top 3 by the halfway mark.

Back at the front, Jimmy Burns in his #101 made his way past Mike King to take over the top spot by lap 15 and began to pull away.  Heffner got by King as well and began to hunt down burns in the closing half of the feature.

But this is how they would finish, with Jimmy Burns scoring his first career victory at the high banks.  Heffner scored a 2nd with Steve Hough, Rob Pitcher and Eddie Marshall rounding out the top 5 finishers.

Also on tap was a special elimination race to raise awareness of the American Indian Movement (AIM).  J.R. Heffner came back to take the win and a $1,000.00 check!

The Steve Hough Motors 358 Modified feature saw it’s namesake take over the lead by lap 12 and pulled away for the win.  Hough finished 1st followed by Matt Quinn, Jason Harrington, Andy Bachetti, and Kim LaVoy.

The LV Sportsman 20 alp feature saw Steve Meilleur outlast Ryan Darcy to take the 20 lap win.  Ron Dwyer finished 3rd followed by Mike Malloy and Olden Dwyer to complete the top 5 finishers.

In the Pro Stock feature, Paul LaRochelle finally scores his first win of the year.  Jason Casey, Jay Corbin Victor Hopkins and Robbie Speed all had to battle it out for 2nd through 5th.

In the Purestocks, Ed Hatch won in PS#1, Jason Meltz took checkers in PS#2, and Ray Hall Sr. took the win in PS#3.  In the 4 Cylinders, Jim Williams won in Single Cam while Steve Loomis takes Dual Cam.

Next up on the schedule is Saxton Sign and Heavy Hauler Night, presenting the Mike Kellogg Memorial Feature, plus the Pro Stock Echo Series and Budget Sportsman! 

Then it’s the return of$17,500 “Mr. DIRT Track U.S.A.” as all the cars and Stars of the Modified DIRTCar Series attack the mighty High Banks for 100 Laps!  Gendron’s Truck Center and Hoosier Present the night along with the Budget Sportsman!   

Waste Management, Bulldog Concrete Big Block Modified Results (30 Laps): 1)Jimmy Burns, 2)J.R. Heffner, 3)Steve Hough, 4)Rob Pitcher, 5)Eddie Marshall, 6)Kyle Armstrong, 7)Andy Bachetti, 8)Brian Berger, 9)Matt Pupello, 10)J. C. Flach, 11)Kolby Schroder, 12)Kyle Sheldon, 13)Donnie Corellis, 14)Kenny Tremont Jr, 15)Keith Flach, 16)Mark Flach Jr, 17)Kim LaVoy, 18)Kyle Hoffman, 19)Wayne Figler, 20)Mike King, 21)Dylan Scribner, 22)Steven Hankle, 23)Matt Quinn, 24)Art Collins, DNS)Paul Gilardi, DNS)John Ruchel

AIM $1,000 Modified Shootout (Elimination Race): J.R. Heffner

Steve Hough Motors 358 Modifieds Results (20 Laps): 1)Steve Hough, 2)Matt Quinn, 3)Jason Harrington, 4)Andy Bachetti, 5)Kim LaVoy, 6)Tom Faxon, 7)Art Collins, 8)Steve Meiller, 9)Steven Hankle, 10)Jeff Kelley, 11)JR Heffner, 12)Olden Dwyer, 13)Ron Dwyer

LV Sportsman Results (20 Laps): 1)Steve Meilleur, 2)Ryan Darcy, 3)Ron Dwyer, 4)Mike Malloy, 5)Olden Dwyer, 6)Dylan Gibson, 7)Collin Clow-B, 8)Jim Osgood-B, 9)Chad Pierce, 10)Rob Maxon-B, 11)Paul Knox, 12)Brian Sandstedt, 13)Kim LaVoy, 14)Frank Harper, 15)Darek Schibi, 16)Alan Houghtaling, 17)Brett Haas, DNS)Sean Mandel, DNS)Josh Gaylord-B

Pro Stock Results (20 Laps): 1)Paul LaRochelle, 2)Jason Casey, 3)Jay Corbin, 4)Victor Hopkins, 5)Robbie Speed, 6)Chad Jeseo, 7)Jon Routhier, 8)Jay Casey, 9)Chuck Towslee, 10)Nick Hilt, 11)Jay Casey, 12)Tom O'Connor, 13)John Santolin, 14)Tony DeRose, 15)Brian Keough, 16)Milo Campbell, 17)Rick Duzlak, 18)Rich Colesanti, 19)Frank Twing, DNS)Mark Dupree

Purestock #1 Results (8 Laps): 1)Ed Hatch, 2)Tom Murphy, 3)Bob Brown, 4)Chris Bierce, 5)DeeDee Cross, 6)Jim Groncki, 7)Dennis O'Connor, 8)Raymond Mandel, 9)Dan Cote, 10)Dan Collins, 11)Dylan Fachini, 12)Keri Vandenburg

Purestock #2 Results (8 Laps): 1)Jason Meltz, 2)Dave Stickles, 3)Steven LaRochelle, 4)Joey Morey, 5)Harold Robitalle, 6)Dan Olds, 7)Joe Chenail, 8)Kurt Burhaupt, 9)John Acker, 10)Shawn Lancey, 11)Matt Cross

Purestock #3 (12 Laps): 1)Ray Hall Sr, 2)Ed Bachand, 3)Doug Olds, 4)James Hatch, 5)Jeff Meltz Sr., 6)Lloyd Tomlin, 7)Lou Ganczar, 8)Scott Morris, 9)Chris Streeter, 10)Phil Wood, 11)Gary Vandenburg, 12)John Devine, 13)Al Relyea, 14)John Felarecki, 15)Ron Johnson

4 Cylinders Single Cam (15 Laps): 1)Jim Williams, 2)Nick Mokhiber, 3)Josh Dupree, 4)Karen Verhagen, 5)Danny, Webber, 6)Jeff Meltz, 7)Tucker Warman, 8)Steve Burbank, 9)Victor Duncan JR, 10)Jesse Sheets, 11)Brian Blanck, 12)Tyler Doran,  13)Brandon Ely, 14)Gary Malloy

4 Cylinders Dual Cam (10 Laps): 1)Steven Loomis, 2)Marty Poole, 3)Dan Collins, 4)Steven Goodness, 5)Sarah Bohlin, 6)Jeno Teti, 7)Victoria Boyles, 8)Kelly Duncan, 9)Hunter Sanchez, DNS)Tim Sayers

For more information, the 2012 schedule, tickets, and links to what's on tap for 2012, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com, and click on “Speedway”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"Great Food, Great Friends....... and Great Racing!"