Kenny Tremont Jr Scores Win #2 at the Mighty High Banks
Bachetti, Lavoy, and Corbin Visit Victory Lane as Well
Saturday August 18, 2012
By: Rodney Rescott

Last week the Valley of Speed lay dormant due to weather, but that only meant that the race teams would be all fired up to finish up the season strong as all the points chases start winding down.  Perfect weather this past Saturday night also brought out the fans in full force to cheer on their favorite drivers to battle for the checkers.

The big block Modifieds have been the marquee event all season long.  A strong field on contenders for not only wins, but for points titles, have put everyone on edge as of late.  In the Abele Tractor Modified feature event, 30 laps were posted on the board, and John Ruchel powered his way out to the front as the green flag flew.  But caution flew early as the #43K of Kenny Aanonson turned his ride in turn 3 and was done for the night with damage.

Up front, though, Keith Flach had taken over the top spot from Ruchel.  The green flew again, this time Kenny Tremont Jr powered his #115 to the front to secure the top spot as the caution flew again. 

Multiple cars were piled up in turn 1 that included Matt Pupello, J.C. Flach, Mark Flach and Dave McFeeters.  All would continue, but Tremont was out front, and he was gonna be hard to beat.  The green flew again, and Tremont powered away from the field.  Back in the pack, Brett Hearn, who recently won the title of Mr. Dirt Track USA this past Thursday Night, was on the move with Brian Berger, and Donnie Corellis in hot pursuit.   

As the last wound down, Tremont had the field covered as the checkers flew giving Tremont his 2nd win of the year.  Flach crossed the line 2nd with Hearn, Corellis, and Rob Pitcher rounding out the top 5 across the line.  A Post-Race Protest was posted; therefore the finishing order was deemed ‘Unofficial’.  Check back to our website for any updates.

In the Steve Hough Motors 358 Modifieds, The #44J of Jeff Kelley was out front early, with teammates Steve Hough and Andy Bachetti charging to the front of the field.  Hough got out front early and began to pull away, but caution slowed the field on lap 11.  On the restart, the #88 of Olden Dwyer came to rest on the speedway bringing out the yellow again.

This time, a controversial call put Bachetti in front of Hough on the restart.  At the green, Hough drove it hard in turn 1 to get the lead back, but ended up in the wall, ending his race.  Back at the front, Bachetti now had to hold off the charge from Brett Hearn, as he made his way to the 2nd spot by lap 12.

But once the green flag flew, Bachetti’s #34B took off and never looked back.  As the checkers, Bachetti took the win with Hearn finishing 2nd.  Matt Quinn rolled home 3rd followed by Tom Faxon and Jeff Kelley to round out the top 5.

In the LV Sportsman 20 lap feature event, Olden Dwyer had full command of the lead throughout the event with Kim LaVoy on the hunt in the closing laps.  A red flag late in the race may have change the outcome, as on the restart, LaVoy took the low lane, and powered by Dwyer in the last turn to take the win.

Dwyer had to settle for 2nd; Ryan Darcy came home 3rd, followed by Frank Harper and Brett Haas.

The full-fendered Pro Stock 20 lapper had plenty of excitement as well as the #322 of Jay Casey had control early in the event, but Jay Corbin powered his #8 to the top spot on lap 16, and led the final 4 circuits to take the win going away.

Casey finished 2nd with Victor Hopkins, Chuck Towslee and Robbie Speed rounding out the top 5 finishers.

In the Purestocks, Ed Hatch took PS#1 as Dan Cote powered on to take PS#2.  And in PS#3 James Hatch brought home the win.  The 4 Cylinders were also on hand as Brandon Ely battled back to win in Single Cam, while Todd Goldstein covered the field in the Dual Cam event.

Next Saturday Night, it’s Back to School Night!  Armory Garage and VP Race Fuels will present the program with lots of prize giveaways!  The Budget Sportsman will also return as well as the ACOT Modifieds and all weekly divisions on August 25th.

For more information, schedule of events, tickets and more, visit our website at and click on ‘Speedway’.  You can also friend us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @LVSpeedway.

Abele Tractor Modified *Unofficial* Results (30 Laps): 1)Kenny Tremont Jr, 2)Keith Flach, 3)Brett Hearn, 4)Donnie Corellis, 5)Rob Pitcher, 6)Kolby Schroder, 7)Brian Berger, 8)Steve Hough, 9)Kyle Armstrong, 10)Eddie Marshall, 11)J.R. Heffner, 12)Mark Flach Jr, 13)Kyle Sheldon, 14)Kim LaVoy, 15)Kyle Hoffman, 16)J. C. Flach, 17)Matt Pupello, 18)Neil Stratton, 19)Dave McFeeters, 20)Hector Stratton, 21)Mike King, 22)Wayne Jelley, 23)Jason Harrington, 24)Jeff Kelley, 25)Wayne Keyes, 26)Steven Hankle, 27)John Ruchel, 28)Wayne Figler, 29)Andy Bachetti, 30)Matt Quinn, 31)Art Collins, 32)Ken Aanonsen *Unofficial finish due to a Post-Race protest

Steve Hough Motors 358 Modified Results (24 Laps): 1)Andy Bachetti, 2)Brett Hearn, 3)Matt Quinn, 4)Tom Faxon, 5)Jeff Kelley, 6)Hector Stratton, 7)Jason Harrington, 8)Art Collins, 9)Steven Hankle, 10)Ron Dwyer, 11)Dave Hinsch, 12)Wayne Keyes, 13)Melanie Coons, 14)Cory Sandstedt, 15)Steve Hough, 16)Olden Dwyer, 17)JR Heffner, 18)Brandon Piastka, 19)John Lutes JR, 20)Dave Baronowski JR

LV Sportsman Results (20 Laps): 1)Kim LaVoy, 2)Olden Dwyer, 3)Ryan Darcy, 4)Frank Harper, 5)Brett Haas, 6)Chad Pierce, 7)Mike Molloy, 8)Dylan Gibson, 9)Brian Sandstedt, 10)Brandon Page-B, 11)Paul Knox, 12)Dale Lashway, 13)Melanie Coons, 14)Ron, Dwyer, 15)Brandon Piastka, 16)Sean Mandel, 17)Josh, Gaylord-B, 18)Steve Meilleur, 19)Frank Hoard JR-B, 20)Darek Schibi, DNS)Alan Houghtaling, DNS)Kevin Belmont, DNS)Brian First-B

Pro Stock Results (20 Laps): 1)Jay Corbin, 2)Jay Casey, 3)Victor Hopkins, 4)Chuck Towslee, 5)Robbie Speed, 6)Jon Routhier, 7)Nick Hilt, 8)Paul LaRochelle, 9)Brian Keough, 10)Tom O'Connor, 11)Paul Engwar, 12)Jason Meltz, 13)Chad Jeseo, 14)Dan Therrien, 15)Mark Dupree, 16)Jason Casey, 17)Milo Campbell, 18)Todd Pelkey, 19)Jeff Washburn, 20)John Santolin, 21)Henry Warner

Purestock #1 Results (8 Laps):  1)Ed Hatch, 2)Pete Wiegand, 3)Daniel Sanchez, 4)David Olds JR, 5)Bob Brown, 6)Jeff Meltz, 7)Gary Vandenburg, 8)Brian Walsh, 9)Dave Hauser, 10)Jeremy Closson, 11)DeeDee Cross, 12)James Cross, 13)Harold Robitalle, DNS)Jay Martin

Purestock #2 Results (8 Laps): 1)Dan Cote, 2)Shawn Perez, 3)Lynn Wesley, 4)Ron Johnson, 5)Jim Groncki, 6)Joe Chenail, 7)Keith Johannessen, 8)Dennis O'Connor, 9)Chris Bierce, 10)Shawn Lancey, 11)Raymond Mandel, 12)Keri Vandenburg, 13)Larry Perez, 14)Matt Cross

Purestock #3 Results (12 Laps): 1)James Hatch, 2)Lou Ganczar, 3)Jeff Meltz Sr., 4)Phil Wood, 5)John Felarecki, 6)Doug Olds, 7)Al Relyea, 8)Lloyd Tomlin, 9)John Devine, 10)Bob Palmer, 11)Gary O'Brien, 12)Chris Streeter, 13)Dave Stickles, 14)Steven LaRochelle, 15)Ray Hall Sr, 16)Ed Bachand

4 Cylinder Single Cam Results (10 Laps): 1)Brandon Ely, 2)Jesse Sheets, 3)Jim Williams, 4)Josh Dupree, 5)James Street, 6)Nick Mokhiber, 7)Tyler Doran,  8)Victor Duncan JR, 9)Steve Burbank, 10)Karen Verhagen, 11)Sara Kingston, 12)John Lindblade, 13)Tucker Warman, 14)Danny Webber, 15)Brian Blanck, DQ)Gary Malloy

4 Cylinder Dual Cam Results (10 Laps): 1)Todd Goldstein, 2)Steven Loomis, 3)Art Clement, 4)Marty Poole, 5)Steven Goodness, 6)Hunter Sanchez, 7)Jeno Teti, 8)Dan Collins, 9)Kelly Duncan, 10)Victoria Boyles

For more information, the 2012 schedule, tickets, and links to what's on tap for 2012, visit our website at, and click on “Speedway”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"Great Food, Great Friends....... and Great Racing!"