J.R. Heffner Cashes in for 2nd Win of 2012
Harper and Hopkins Battle to Score 1st wins of the Year
Saturday June 30, 2012
By: Rodney Rescott

The Valley of Speed brought the fireworks both on the speedway and above it; as J.R. Heffner took the win in the Modifieds while Frank Harper and Victor Hopkins had to battle their way into victory lane.

In the feature event of the night, the mighty Modifieds took to the high banks for the Berkshire Bank and Armory Garage 30 Lap showdown.  At the front of the field were the #101 of Jimmy Burns and the #42P of Matt Pupello as the green flag flew.

Burns powered his way out front early until the caution flew on lap 7 for the #43 of Keith Flach as he made heavy contact with the turn 3 boiler plate, ending his night.  Caution flew again on lap 9, this time for the #42S of Kyle Sheldon.

Burns still was in control, but J.R. Heffner powered his #74 to the top spot by lap 10, and began to check out on the field.  The race went caution free for the remaining laps, as J.R. Heffner scores his 2nd win of 2012.

Donnie Corellis battled his was to finish 2nd with Brett Hearn having to settle for 3rd.  Jimmy Burns held on to finish 4th while Rob Pitcher scored a top 5 finish.

The LV Sportsman took to the speedway for their 20 lap feature event as Chad Pierce and Ryan Darcy battled for the next 14 laps door to door and bumper to bumper.  The packed crowd was on their feet watching battle along with 3rd place runner Frank Harper.

A couple of cautions kept the field tight through 14 laps, until the leaders bobbled a bit coming out of turn 2 and that opened the door for Harper’s #25 to capitalize and catapulted from 3rd to first by turn 3.

And that was all she wrote, as Harper scores his first win of the season.  Pierce held on for 2nd followed by Darcy.  Brett Haas battled his way to the 4th spot followed by Olden Dwyer.

The Pro Stock feature was once again marred by a multi-car pileup, this time on lap 4 that included up to 7 racers.  Half were able to continue, the rest ended their night pitside.  But up front, the edge of your seat battle was on.

Victor Hopkins’ # 243 and the #25 of Chad Jeseo put on a show for the fans as they battled it out for the remaining 16 circuits nearly side by side, but it was Hopkins who squeaked out the win at the line by about a bumper to take his first win of the year.

Jeseo settled for 2nd while Paul LaRochelle, Robbie Speed, and Jon Routhier completed the top 5.

Earlier in the night, the Purestocks took to the speedway for their nightly duels, this time it was Ed Hatch scoring the win in PS#1.  In PS#2 Tim Sayers took the checkers, while Al Relyea returns to victory lap for his 5th win of the year.

Next Saturday Night is Freihofer’s Night with a $3,000 to Win Bedell Racing Engines Modified Feature!  Also there is a King of the Catskill’s Qualifier, plus an Albany Saratoga – Lebanon valley Budget Challenge along with the regular weekly divisions.

Then it’s Rifenburg Construction Night featuring the Steve Hough Motors 358 Modifieds and the Pro Stock Echo Series on Saturday July 14th.

For more information, full 2012 schedule, and more, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com and click on ‘Speedway’.  You can also friend us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @LVSpeedway.

Berkshire Bank and Armory Garage Modified Results (30 Laps): 1)J.R. Heffner, 2)Donnie Corellis, 3)Brett Hearn, 4)Jimmy Burns, 5)Rob Pitcher, 6)Andy Bachetti, 7)Brian Berger, 8)Eddie Marshall, 9)Kolby Schroder, 10)Paul Gilardi, 11)Kenny Tremont Jr, 12)Kyle Armstrong, 13)J. C. Flach, 14)Kyle Hoffman, 15)Mike King, 16)Matt Pupello, 17)John Ruchel, 18)Denny Soltis, 19)Kyle Sheldon, 20)Keith Flach, 21)Steve Hough, 22)Tom Faxon, 23)Mark Flach Jr, DNS) Brandon Pitcher

LV Sportsman results (20 Laps): 1)Frank Harper, 2)Chad Pierce, 3)Ryan Darcy, 4)Brett Haas, 5)Olden Dwyer, 6)Kim Lavoy, 7)Brian Sandstedt, 8)Darek Schibi, 9)Dylan Gibson, 10)Mike Malloy, 11)Rob Maxon, 12)Greg Catlin, 13)Steve Meilleur, 14)Sean Mandel, 15)Brandon Page, 16)Alan Houghtaling, DNS)Brandon Piastka, DNS)Tom Athenis

Pro Stock Results (20 Laps): 1)Victor Hopkins, 2)Chad Jeseo, 3)Paul LaRochelle, 4)Robbie Speed, 5)Jon Routhier, 6)Nick Hilt, 7)Brian Keough, 8)Rick Duzlak, 9)Chuck Towslee, 10)Mark Dupree, 11)Jay Casey, 12)Rich Colesanti, 13)Jay Corbin, 14)Milo Campbell, 15)Jay Casey, 16)Jason Casey, 17)John Santolin, DNS)Tom Bertino, DNS)Tom O'Connor

Purestock #1 (8 Laps): 1)Ed Hatch, 2)Chad Arsenault, 3)Richard Puff, 4)John Devine, 5)Ed Bachand, 6)Lynn Wesley, 7)Dan Cote, 8)Steven LaRochelle, 9)Chris Bierce, 10)Keri Vandenburg, 11)Ed Hubbard, 12)DeeDee Cross, 13)Jeremy Closson, 14)Danny Sanchez, 15)Matt Cross, 16)John Acker, 17)Dennis O'Connor

Purestock #2 (8 Laps): 1)Tim Sayers, 2)Bob Brown, 3)Doug Olds, 4)Scott Morris, 5)Gary O'Brien, 6)Joey Morey, 7)Gil Twing, 8)Harold Robitalle, 9)Rich Roger, 10)Joe Chenail, 11)David Olds JR, 12)Brian Walsh, 13)Scott Adams, 14)Chris Stalker, 15)Luke Valli

Purestock #3 (12 Laps): 1)Al Relyea, 2)Phil Wood, 3)Ray Hall Sr, 4)John Felarecki, 5)Jason Meltz, 6)James Hatch, 7)Ron Johnson, 8)Lou Ganczar, 9)Chris Streeter, 10)Lloyd Tomlin, 11)Phil Sherman, 12)Jeff Meltz Sr., 13)Gary Vandenburg, 14)Jim Groncki, 15)Dave Stickles

For more information, the 2012 schedule, tickets, and links to what's on tap for 2012, visit our website at www.LebanonValley.com, and click on “Speedway”, or call the Speedway Offices during regular business hours at (518) 794-9606 or (518) 794-9965.

Come see what Everyone is talking about! 
"Great Food, Great Friends....... and Great Racing!"